Business | Community & living | Your Council | Environment | Housing | Jobs | Leisure & culture | Planning

Council and democracy

South Derbyshire District Council is part of the two-tier local government for Derbyshire.

Derbyshire has eight district councils and a county council. Services for South Derbyshire are divided between ourselves and the county council.

Derby City is now a unitary authority which means that the city has a single-tier and is responsible for all local government functions within its area.

Councils work within powers laid down by various Acts of Parliament. Some council services are 'statutory', which means required by law. Others are 'discretionary'.


South Derbyshire District Council is made up of 36 locally elected councillors (24 Conservative, 12 Labour) who make decisions on how to improve local services on behalf of local people.

Council meetings


Local members of parliament represent the interests of local people in the House of Commons. European Members of Parliament represent the interest of local people in the European Parliament.

Please select from the main menu for further information.

Page ref: LGCL 459