Business | Community & living | Your Council | Environment | Housing | Jobs | Leisure & culture | Planning

Housing health and safety rating system (HHRS)

The Housing Act 2004 introduces a new statutory minimum standard for housing called the Housing Health and Safety Rating System (HHSRS). This system is a risk based assessment, involving consideration of 29 separate hazards.

Where hazards are identified in a property, scores are assigned to the hazards based on the risk they present to the potential occupant. Scores in excess of 1,000 points will render a hazard category 1 requiring mandatory action. Scores below 1,000 will render a hazard category 2 where action is discretionary.

A new range of enforcement action to deal with identified hazards under the Housing Act 2004 is available as follows:

  •  Improvement notice
  •  Prohibition order
  •  Hazard awareness notice
  •  Emergency remedial action*
  •  Emergency prohibition order*
  •  Demolition order*
  •  Clearance area*

(* not available where a property exhibits category 2 hazards only)

We will seek to reduce the number of homes in the district that pose a risk to the health and safety of the occupants (ie suffer from category 1 hazards) and will take enforcement action where necessary and appropriate in accordance with the councilís Enforcement Policy.

For information Leaflets and Documents for Landlords and Tenants, please see Private Housing

Contact details

South Derbyshire District Council
Private Sector Housing
Environmental Health Department
Civic Offices
Civic Way
DE11 0AH

Tel: 01283 595719
Fax: 01283 595855
Online: contact form

Page ref: LGSL 650