Business | Community & living | Your Council | Environment | Housing | Jobs | Leisure & culture | Planning

Conservation areas

A conservation area is an area of special architectural or historic importance, the character of which it is desirable to preserve or enhance. There are 22 conservation areas in South Derbyshire, each with a unique identity and style that we want to protect from indiscriminate change.

5 Willington road, Repton

This does not mean that every detail and feature of the area should be preserved, as it is the character of the area that is important. For this reason, any development in conservation areas, including extensions and modifications of existing buildings as well as the construction of new buildings must be done in a way that compliments the aesthetic qualities of the area.

Living in a conservation area

If you live in a conservation area, you might need to obtain planning permission for many changes to buildings that would otherwise be permitted.

The exact restrictions that are in place will depend on whether the conservation area has an Article 4 Direction. You should consult the planning department before beginning any modifications to buildings in a conservation area. Even if you do not need permission, it is a good idea to ensure that any changes you make are in keeping with the area. Inappropriate modifications are likely to reduce the value of the property, and upset the neighbours.


"Conservation area consent" (application form) is often required for the demolition of buildings within a conservation area. This gives us the chance to consider the aesthetic value of the building. Consent may be granted on the condition that an approved replacement building is constructed.


Trees in conservation areas are given a greater degree of protection than elsewhere.

You must give us six weeks notice before starting any work, such as felling or pruning on any tree whose main stem diameter is at least 75mm measured at 1.5m above the ground.

We will consider the tree in question, and may impose a Tree Preservation Order to protect it.

List and maps of conservation areas

Maps showing the Conservation Areas are available on our interactive online mapping service*. This is a link to our GIS Mapping system. Maps may take some time to load if using a slower connection. Help and Accessibility.

The 22 conservation areas in South Derbyshire are:

  • Aston on Trent
  • Barrow on Trent
  • Bretby
  • Etwall
  • King's Newton
  • Lullington
  • Melbourne
  • Milton
  • Netherseal
  • Newton Solney
  • Repton
  • Shardlow
  • Smisby
  • Stanton by Bridge
  • Swadlincote
  • Swarkestone
  • Ticknall
  • Trent and Mersey Canal
  • Trusley
  • Twyford
  • Walton on Trent
  • Woodhouses

Additional information is available in our Conservation Areas in South Derbyshire leaflet available in the related documents section.

Histories of some of the conservation areas are available in the related documents section to view or download (each file includes an A3 hand drawn map for use as reference only). These are larger documents and may take two to three minutes to download if you are using a dial-up modem connection.

Alternatively high quality printed booklets are available from the Planning Enquiries office for a small charge. You can also purchase them through our online payment system.

Contact details

South Derbyshire District Council
Planning Policy
Civic Offices
Civic Way
DE11 0AH

Tel: 01283 595983
Online: contact form

* The mapping included in this site is supplied to the council under license, please refer to the terms and conditions. By clicking through to the map it is assumed that you have accepted the terms and conditions.

Page ref: LGSL 511 and 512